My husband the cobbler.

Matt & I are a good team. I get ideas for stuff to make around the house, and he uses his gifts of precision & spatial reasoning to execute my designs. He just finished these cabinet doors for the built-ins in our living room….

We don’t have any radiators in our house but I love the look of a radiator box—so we made the doors out of the same screen material. Matt bought a router to do this project so now we’re equipped to do other woodworking projects.

I have a weird fascination with the knob collection at Anthropologie. Getting to pick out some new knobs was one of the exciting parts of this project—aside from finally being able to hide our junk behind closed doors.

On snowy days like today, Matt makes his family recipe for Snow Cream.

You’ll need 1 cup sugar, 1 can evaporated milk, & 1 tablespoon vanilla.

Plus, a big bucket of freshly harvested snow.

Matt starts mixing a scoop of snow at a time in with the other three ingredients, until all the liquid’s absorbed.

Dish up the snow cream (makes about 4 big bowls) and enjoy by the fire.

5 Responses to “My husband the cobbler.”

  1. jodi Says:

    That cabinet is awesome! I hear you on the Anthro knob thing. They are way expensive but soooo cute. 🙂

  2. pamela Says:

    sarah! your photos are BEAUTIFUL! what kind of camera are you using? i really need to stop using just my iphone on my blog! love the bookshelves and the snow creme. so fun.

  3. Beeps Says:

    1st – YUMMY! I wish I had thought to stock up on evaporated milk before getting snowed in.

    2nd – I love those doors. They look fabulous…and you and hubby DO make a good team. 🙂

  4. Sarah Says:

    It’s chrome. Gonna make some for your place? Thanks for reading!

  5. Heckler Says:

    Is the screen brass or chrome colored?

Leave a Reply

